propeller

abc2

How to delete Messenger contact



Looking for a way to remove a contact from messenger or delete Messenger contact? You might have mistakenly added them to Messenger or accepted their first chat on Messenger.

In this guide, you will learn how to delete Messenger contact including those in your friend lists or those that were automatically synced from your phone contact (non Facebook friends).

Steps to delete Messenger contact that is in your friend list

  1. Login to Facebook either using Web or mobile app
  2. Visit the person’s profile page you wish to remove from Messenger contact
  3. Then click/tap Friends > Unfriend. You just unfriended them from Facebook.
  4. This step is optional; If you still see them active on your Messenger, then you should try to do this.
  • Open Messenger
  • Tap on People contact icon. This is where you see active friends on Messenger
  • Under Messenger tab, scroll down to locate those friends to remove from your contact.
  • Tap on the info icon that is always close to call button
  • Tap Remove Contact
  • Accept the option to remove contact
When you remove or delete Messenger contact, it means that the person’s messages will come as a Message Request.

They stay in your Messenger request until you were able to accept them or delete them.

Steps to delete Messenger contact that is not in your friend list.


When someone that is not your friend sends you a Messenger request, they might have seen your contact through Messenger suggestion or base on automatic sync from their phone contact.

Would you like to receive a more improved article like this?

To remove those contacts from Messenger, then you just do some simple clicking.
  • Open Messenger
  • Tap on People contact icon. This is where you see active friends on Messenger
  • Under Messenger tab, scroll down to locate those friends to remove from your contact.
  • Tap on the info icon that is always close to call button
  • Tap Remove Contact
  • Accept the option to remove contact


You just removed them from your Messenger contact list. You won’t see them active again and their messages won’t pop up on your chat heads anymore.

If you would need to delete more than few Messenger contacts, then you may need to delete all the contacts you have earlier uploaded on Messenger and even those that you accepted.


To delete all Messenger contacts, click here and click on Delete All. After doing this, you can also decide to turn off future automatic uploading of messenger contact either from your phone contact or anyone else.